

PRESS RELEASE

City of Port Aransas, Texas, 710 W. Avenue A, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4128 ~ 361-749-4111 ~ Fax 361-749-4101

For Immediate Release

Date: February 14, 2022

Contact: Francisca Nixon, City Secretary

Phone: 361-749-4111 **Fax:** 361-749-4101

Email: fnixon@cityofportaransas.org

City of Port Aransas – MAY 7, 2022 GENERAL ELECTION

Wednesday, January 19, 2022 was the first day to file as a Candidate in the May 7, 2022 General Election. The General Election is being held for the purpose of electing a Mayor and three council members to fill positions 2, 4, & 6. Applications have been received from the following Candidates:

Mayor: Wendy Moore

664 Shoreline Circle

Occupation: Branch Manager/

American Bank

Paul Sherrill 726 Lantana Dr. Occupation: Retired

Martin J. Phalen 168 Five Dove Circle

Occupation: Health Physicist/

Radiation Safety

Place 2: Victoria Stiewig

1820 S. 11th St

Occupation: RV Park Owner

Tina Mott

1333 Sea Secret St. Correspondence Carrier

Place 4: Tanya Chambers

4903 SH 361 Casa La Playa #3 Occupation: Business Owner **Position Currently held by:**

Mayor Charles R. Bujan

Position Currently held by:

Tina Mott (incumbent)

Position Currently held by:

Bruce Clark

(term limited and cannot run for re-election)

Gary Klepperich 330 Paradise Point Dr. Occupation: Executive Director/

Padre Isles POA

Place 6: Carl "Corky" Moore 314 Paradise Pointe

Occupation: Preservation Developer

Leslie Smith 607 6th Street Occupation: HVAC Business Owner

Dale T. Christianson 610 Sand Key Dr.

Occupation: Business Owner

Paul Ruff 316 E. Avenue D Occupation: Waiter

Mayor Pro-Tem Joan Holt

Position Currently held by:

(term limited and cannot run for re-election)

Important Dates:

- Friday, February 18, 2022 @ 5pm last day to file for a place on the ballot.
- Thursday, April 7, 2022 last day for submitting voter registration application in time to vote at the election or for requesting transfer of registration in time to vote in May Election.
- April 25 May 3 Early Voting

###

/s/ Francisca Nixon, City Secretary