The Municipal Court is located at 710 W. Avenue A. We may be contacted at (361) 749-4111, ext. 250. Our fax number is (361) 749-4101. Judge Duncan Neblett presides over the Municipal Court and may be addressed in writing, in care of the court.
The Port Aransas Municipal Court has jurisdiction over Class C misdemeanor offenses that occur within the city limits. These include, but are not limited to: traffic offenses, parking offenses, juvenile offenses, violation of city ordinances, and certain criminal offenses punishable by a fine of $500.00 or less.
The law requires that you appear to enter a plea in your case. You may appear in person or in writing. If you were issued a citation, you must appear within 14 days of the receipt of the citation. If you wish to appear before the Judge, please contact the court.
Plea of Guilty - By a plea of guilty, you admit that the act is illegal, that you committed the act charged, and you have no defense or excuse for your act. Before entering your plea of guilty, you should understand the following:
- The State has the burden of proving that you violated the law.
- You have the right to hear the State's evidence and to require the State to prove you violated the law.
- A plea of guilty may be used against you later in a civil suit if there was a traffic accident.
Pleas of nolo contendere (No Contest) - a plea of no contest means that you do not contest the State's charge against you. You will almost certainly be found guilty, unless you are eligible and successfully complete a driving safety course and/or court ordered probation. In addition, a plea of nolo contendere cannot be used against you in a civil suit for damages.
Plea of Not Guilty - A plea of not guilty means that you are denying guilt or that you have a good defense in your case.
The Port Aransas Municipal Court Does NOT Provide Legal Advice.
The municipal court has jurisdiction over juvenile (16 years of age and younger at the time of the offense) charges with Class C misdemeanors except Public Intoxication. All juveniles are required to appear in open court for the proceedings in their cases. You will receive a written notice to appear approximately 2 weeks prior to the appearance date. The parent or guardian of any juvenile charged in municipal court is required to appear in court with their child. Juveniles who fail to appear or resolve their cases will be reported to the Department of Public Safety who will deny renewal of their driver's license. If they do not have a license, they will be unable to obtain one until they have satisfied all obligations to this court.
All juveniles must appear before the Judge, and be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
If you are charged with a traffic offense under the Transportation Code, you may request to take a driving safety course, if you meet certain qualifications.
- You must possess a valid Texas driver's license.
- You must have proof of financial responsibility.
- You cannot have a commercial driver's license.
- You cannot be charged with speeding 25 or more miles over the limit, fail to remain at the scene of an accident, or overtaking and passing a school bus.
If you decide to request a driving safety course, you will need to provide the court with the following items:
- Proof of financial responsibility
- Copy of valid Texas driver's license
- Plea of nolo contendere or guilty
- Pay $148, which goes to the State for allowing the course.
You will be allowed 90 days (from the date of your citation) to take the course and return your certificate to this court. You are required to attend a course which has been approved by the Texas Education Agency. If you do not provide this court with proof of successful completion, the court will send you a notice requiring you to appear in court to show cause why you did not provide your proof of completion. If you show good cause as to why you did not provide your proof within the designated period, the Judge may (but is not required to) grant you an extension. Failure to appear in court may result in a warrant for you arrest being issued and/or your case being reported to the Department of Public Safety for denial of the renewal of your driver's license.
|No Beach Parking Permit ($12.00 permit available at City Hall, convenience stores and various locations on the beach)||$75.00|
|Double Parking on the beach||$110.00|
|Parking in Restricted area on the beach||$110.00|
If you fail to resolve your ticket as directed by the court, you will be reported to the Department of Public Safety, denying issuance or renewal of your driver's license. If you have previously been reported to the Department of Public Safety, please add an additional $30.00 fee to your fine.